2018 Australia Day Honours


2018 Australia Day Honours

event date: 31-Mar-2018


Professor Jeffrey Victor ROSENFELD AM

For eminent service to medicine, particularly to the discipline of neurosurgery, as an academic and clinician, to medical research and professional organisations, and to the health and welfare of current and former defence force members.

Service includes: Monash University: Director, Monash Institute of Medical Engineering, since 2014. Pro Vice-Chancellor Advancement (Major Projects), 2012-2014. The Alfred Hospital: Senior Neurosurgeon, Department of Neurosurgery, since 2015. Professor and Director, 2000-2015. Honorary Visiting Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Papua New Guinea, since 2000. Honorary Clinical Research Fellow, Bionics Institute, University of Melbourne, since 2012. Adjunct Professor in Surgery, F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, Bethesda Maryland USA, since 2013. Board Member, Sir Edward 'Weary' Dunlop Medical Research Foundation, since 2010. Adjunct Professor, Centre for Military and Veterans' Health, University of Queensland, 2006-2014. Royal Australasian College of Surgeons: Examiner in Neurosurgery, 2005-2013. Member, Court of Examiners, 2005-2013. Member, National Trauma Committee, current. Colonel Commandant of Victoria, Royal Australian Army Medical Corps, since 2014. National Vice-President Health, Defence Reserves Association, since 2012. Member, Defence Employer Support Council, current. Patron-In-Chief, Victorian Association of Jewish Ex & Servicemen and Women Australia, since 2012 and Federal Patron, since 2013. Member, Australian Medical Association Defence Health Working Group, current. Chair, Australian Defence Force Human Research Ethics Committee, 2012-2015. Surgeon-General, Australian Defence Force Reserves, 2009-2011 and Army Reserve Medical Officer (MAJGEN), since 1984. Awards and recognition includes: Inaugural Fellow, Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences, 2015. Elected International Fellow, American Association of Neurological Surgeons. Elected Fellow, Academia Eurasiana Neurochirurgica, Eurasian Academy of Neurological Surgery, 2016. Elected Fellow, Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (FTSE), 2016. Recipient, Anzac of the Year Award, Returned and Services League of Australia, 2015. Appointed a Knight of Grace in the Venerable Order of St John of Jerusalem, 2014. Awarded the Monash Medal, 'for Leadership, Integrity and Service', Rotary Club of Melbourne, 2012. Appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire, Queen's Birthday Honours List 2013, nominated by the Government of Papua New Guinea, 'for services to neurosurgery and to the School of Medicine, University of Papua New Guinea'.


Emeritus Professor Russell Duncan LANSBURY AM

For distinguished service to industrial relations education as an academic, researcher and author,
through contributions to international arbitration foundations, and as a mentor of young academics.

Service includes: University of Sydney: Emeritus Professor, Faculty of Economics and Business,
since 2009. Vice-Chancellor's Nominee, Review of Health and Medical Research at the University,
2014. Adjunct Professor in Management, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, since 2010.
Adjunct Professor, Open University of Hong Kong, since 2010. Life Member, Association
of Industrial Relations Academics of Australia and New Zealand, 2013. Patron,
Industrial Relations Society of Australia, since 2013. Life Member, Industrial Relations Society
of NSW, 2012. Life Member, Australian Labour and Employment Relations Society, 2010.
International Advisory Board Member, Cambodian Arbitration Foundation, since 2010.
Community: Joint Coordinator, Organisational Review, Wayside Chapel, Sydney, 2016.
Volunteer Guide, Botanic Gardens of NSW, ongoing. Awards and recognition includes:
Recipient, the Vic Taylor Distinguished Long Term Contribution Award, Association of
Industrial Relations Academics of Australia and New Zealand.



Also Dr Helen Veronica SZOKE

Formerly Chair of School Council and President of the MHS P&F.

Comment - Was this of interest?
No Very
Captcha Image